How Many Animorphs Books Are There?

There are a total of 54 Animorphs books. The first book, The Invasion, was published in 1996. The last book, The Beginning, was published in 2001.

Checkout this video:

How many Animorphs books are there?

As of June 2020, there are 54 books in the Animorphs series. The series was written by K.A. Applegate and published between 1996 and 2001.

The history of Animorphs

Animorphs is a science fiction series written by K. A. Applegate and published by Scholastic. The series is chronologically set in the midst of an alien invasion of Earth by a race of parasitic aliens known as Yeerks, who enslave humans by inserting slugs into their brains to take control of their bodies, known as “controllers”. Through this process, the victim’s personality is subsumed and they are given instructions on what to do and say. The slug also gives the victim enhanced strength, speed, and stamina, as well as other abilities depending on the form of the animal from which they’ve acquired their morph. The books follow five human children — Jake, Marco, Rachel, Cassie, and Tobias — who are granted the ability to acquire the DNA of any animal they touch and “morph” into that animal’s form while retaining their human mind. As they experience adventures fighting against the Yeerks, each must deal with the moral implications of becoming animals to fight in battle.

The characters of Animorphs

There are a total of 54 books in the Animorphs series, which was written by K.A. Applegate and published between 1996 and 2001. The books follow the adventures of five human teenagers – Jake, Marco, Cassie, Rachel, and Tobias – who are granted the power to transform into any animal they touch by an alien creature known as an Andalite. These “Animorphs” use their new abilities to defend Earth from the invading Yeerks, a race of aliens that take control of human hosts by inserting their slug-like parasites into their brains.

While the Animorphs books were generally marketed as science fiction for young adults, they also included elements of fantasy, horror, and mystery. The characters themselves underwent significant development over the course of the series, growing up and dealing with loss, love, betrayal, and other challenges both human and alien.

The plot of Animorphs

The Animorphs series is told in first person, with all six main protagonists taking turns narrating the books through their own individual perspectives. The books are written using multiple third person perspectives, but the events are primarily seen through the eyes of Jake, Marco, Rachel, and Tobias. Most of the books also contain journal entries from Aximili-Esgarrouth-Isthil (Ax), Prince Elfangor’s younger brother, who is also a member of the Animorphs.

The first book, The Invasion, introduces the five human protagonists and Ax. In each book that follows, one of the protagonists becomes the focus character while the others play supporting roles. The Animorphs fight against a race of aliens called the Yeerks who are attempting to take over Earth by secretly inhabiting and controlling human hosts (referred to as “controllers”) through use of sentient slugs called Yeerks. When a Yeerk enters a human host’s ear and reaches their brain, it takes complete control of that person’s body and mind; however, they retain all memories of their previous life. Yeerks can stay inside their host bodies indefinitely as long as they have access to water to keep their slugs alive.

The setting of Animorphs

The Animorphs books are set in present-day Earth and focus on five human protagonists — Jake, Rachel, Cassie, Marco, and Tobias — who aquire the power to morph into any animal they touch. The kids use their powers to defend themselves, their families, and humanity as a whole from an alien invasion. In addition to the five main characters, several other humans and aliens play pivotal roles in the story.

The themes of Animorphs

There are 56 Animorphs books in total, divided into five sets of 12 books each. The first set is called the Andalite Chronicles, and the last four are known as the Megamorphs.

The themes of Animorphs typically revolve aroundteenagers who have the ability to transform into any animal they touch, and use their skills to fight an alien invasion. Many of the books also deal with more personal issues such as bullying, loss, and betrayal.

The style of Animorphs

There are 54 Animorphs books, plus six spin-off series: The Andalite Chronicles, The Hork-Bajir Chronicles, The Ellimist Chronicles, Megamorphs, Visser, and Tales of the Animorphs. All the books were ghostwritten by K.A. Applegate, with the exception of Visser, which was written by her husband, Michael Grant.

The reception of Animorphs

The Animorphs book series was generally well-received by critics and became one of the most popular book series of the 1990s. It has been praised for its exploration of moral and ethical issues, as well as its handling of teenage protagonists. The series has also been criticized for its violence and dark themes.

The legacy of Animorphs

The Animorphs book series was created by K.A. Applegate and published between 1996 and 2001. The series follows a group of young people who are given the ability to transform into animals in order to fight an alien invasion. The books were popular among readers of all ages and spawned a spin-off series, television show, video game, and more.

As of 2021, there are 54 books in the Animorphs series. The first 42 books were written by Applegate, while the remaining 12 were ghostwritten by various authors. The series is currently being re-released in a new format, with new cover art and updated text.

The future of Animorphs

Animorphs is a book series written by K.A. Applegate. The series follows the adventures of a group of teenagers who are given the ability to transform into animals by an alien creature. The series is comprised of 54 books, which were published between 1996 and 2001.

The books were extremely popular when they were first released, and they continue to have a loyal following today. In recent years, there has been increased interest in the series, due in part to the fact that it is being adapted into a television show. It is currently unclear what the future holds for Animorphs, but it seems likely that the series will continue to be popular for many years to come.

Scroll to Top